Research Guides: Philosophy: General

Article Databases

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
This database aims to be a comprehensive index and bibliography for philosophical works. In addition to indexing books and journal articles, it monitors open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic and professional philosophers.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Contains current and recent issues of dozens of philosophy journals from philosophical societies, university departments and presses, and commercial publishers in several countries. Journals listed that are subscribed to individually by the Auraria Library are available full-text.
PhilSci Archive This link opens in a new window
An electronic preprints archive tailored to and run by philosophers of science to promote rapid dissemination of new work. Works posted here can be freely viewed without the need for a user account. PhilSci-Archive invites submissions in all areas of philosophy of science, including general philosophy of science, feminist philosophy of science, socially relevant philosophy of science, history and philosophy of science, and philosophy of particular sciences, including physics, biology, chemistry, psychology, etc.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Covers philosophy, literature, poetry, theater, religion, historical topics, and culture and includes scholarly writings covering major authors, artists, philosophers, topics, and time periods.
Academic Search Premier Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of thousands of publications, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes images, graphs, tables and illustrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full text digitized journals, with content ranging from the early 19th century to the year 2000. Titles cover subject matter primarily in the social sciences and humanities, including psychology, literature, history, linguistics, religion, sociology, geography, performing arts, political science, economics, philosophy, archaeology, anthropology, and education. The Auraria Library subscribes to the Foundation Collection and Collections 5, 6, 7 and 9. Some journals are in non-English languages, including German, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals and books in arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Massive collection of scholarly materials covers virtually all topic areas. Content, including articles, proceedings, and more, is pulled from various collections and is cross-searchable.

Database List
Access Auraria Library Databases. Either search, browse, or view databases by subject.

General Philosophy Website Recommendations

The Leiter Reports
"News and views about philosophy, the academic profession, academic freedom, intellectual culture...and a bit of poetry."
Philosophical Blogs
Dozens of "weblogs" covering numerous philosophical topics and philosophers.
Philosophy Pages
"Helpful information for students of the Western philosophical tradition."
Sophia Project: Dare to be Wise
"Founded in 1999 by college educators, the Sophia Project is an online collection of original articles, online courses, primary source texts, and commentaries in the fields of philosophy and ethics designed to provide the newcomer to the discipline of philosophy with the resources necessary to read great philosophical works."

Philosophy Discussion Lists

Philosophy Podcasts

Philosophy Bites
Interviews with professional, academic philosophers.
Philosopher's Zone
Conversations with professional, academic philosophers.
LearnOutLoud Podcast Directory: Philosophy Section

Philosophy Overviews and Encyclopedias

Below are representative general Philosophy reference books and ebooks available through Auraria Library, or on the Web.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
IEP was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Scholars in philosophy and related disciplines worldwide maintain this peer-reviewed online encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
ISBN: 9780028660721
Publication Date: 2005
eBook
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 0415073103
Publication Date: 1998
eBook and print copies available
World Philosophy by Frank N. Magill (Editor); Ian P. McGreal (Editor)
Call Number: B29 .W68 1982
ISBN: 0893563250
Publication Date: 1982
Five volume work containing critical summary essays of major philosophical works, critiques by modern scholars, and extensive bibliographies for further study.

Britannica ACADEMIC This link opens in a new window
Britannica, and the resources bundled within the collection, supply topic overviews, biographies, word and concept definitions, a world atlas, historical timelines, quotations, illustrations, photos, videos, links to relevant articles and websites, primary sources, and the World Data Analyst, supplying customizable charts and tables of statistics on countries of the world. Users can suggest edits and additions to content. Note: Britannica ACADEMIC World Atlas is only available on campus. Check the end of each article for a Citation Exporter.

Streaming Videos: Selected Titles

The Great Philosophers
Available in streaming and DVD formats. Host Bryan Magee talks to scholars and philosophers from all over the world to explore the vast canvas of Western philosophy, from Plato to Wittgenstein.
more...less...
[Episode 1]. Bryan Magee talks to Myles Burnyeat about Plato -- [Episode 2]. Bryan Magee talks to Martha Nussbaum about Aristotle -- [Episode 3]. Bryan Magee talks to Anthony Kenny about medieval philosophy -- [Episode 4]. Bryan Magee talks to Bernard Williams about Descartes -- [Episode 5]. Bryan Magee talks to Anthony Quinton about Spinoza and Leibniz -- [Episode 6]. Bryan Magee talks to Michael Ayers about Locke and Berkeley -- [Episode 7]. Bryan Magee talks to John Passmore about Hume -- [Episode 8]. Bryan Magee talks to Geoffrey Warnock about Kant -- [Episode 9]. Bryan Magee talks to Peter Singer about Hegel and Marx -- [Episode 10]. Bryan Magee talks to Frederick Copleston about Schopenhauer -- [Episode 11]. Bryan Magee talks to J.P. Stern about Nietzsche -- [Episode 12]. Bryan Magee talks to Hubert Dreyfus about Husserl, Heidegger and modern existentialism -- [Episode 13]. Bryan Magee talks to Sidney Morgenbesser about the American pragmatists -- [Episode 14]. Bryan Magee talks to A.J. Ayer about Frege, Russell and modern logic -- [Episode 15]. Bryan Magee talks to John Searle about Wittgenstein.
Great Ideas of Philosophy I and II
Part I. This series investigates core questions in philosophy, such as: Why is there something rather than nothing? What is right action? And what do we mean when we talk about the “mind”? Some of the world’s foremost contemporary philosophers—Richard Sorabji, Colin McGinn, Hilary Putnam, Frances Kamm, Alexander Nehamas, and Arthur Danto, to name only six—enlighten and enliven with their knowledge on these and other topics. 7-part series, 43–51 minutes each.
more...less...
Part II. Stimulating commentary by renowned philosophers whose lines of inquiry intersect the spheres of science, religion, politics, epistemology, and logic makes this 6-part series an indispensable asset for the study of philosophical principles and approaches that are closely aligned with the activities and concerns of daily life. Interviews with some of the discipline’s top experts, excerpts from influential writings, and numerous on-screen charts, diagrams, and illustrations enhance each program. 6-part series, 42–46 minutes each.

Style guides

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Z253 .U69
Publication Date: 2017
eBook

MLA Style (Purdue OWL)
Provides citation formats and examples for a variety of resource types. See left menu on page.

Journals of Note

Yearly, the Leiter Repots blog releases the results of a poll to determine that year's "Top Philosophy Journals." There were 500 participants in the 2015 poll.

Leiter Report Poll: Top Philosophy Journals 2015