Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Presearching is a way to get a quick overview and information that will help you begin your research in the library databases. You can use familiar sources like Wikipedia or Google to find additional keywords, ways to broaden and narrow your topic, and areas you might be interested in as a focus.
You can support and enhance your speeches with some of the statistics, visual and other resources given in the box below.
The Argument Overview databases below can help you to identify arguments and opinions related to your topic. They are also good for locating new topics.
Statistics, Image, and Media Resources
Argument Overview Sources
CQ Researcher Online
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. A wide range of topics are covered, from social and political issues to environment, health, education, crime, climate change, public policy, and science and technology.
Presents an array of perspectives on a wide range of topics using fully cited articles, essays, primary documents, biographies, statistics, court cases, profiles of government and special interest groups, websites, and podcasts. Topics cover politics, the environment, health care, education, energy, and much, much more.
Advanced Search Tips (optional)
Web of Science
Massive collection of scholarly materials covers virtually all topic areas. Content, including articles, proceedings, and more, is pulled from various collections and is cross-searchable.