Research Guides: Colorado Economic Development Database: Companies and Industries

What can I find here?

IF YOU'RE AN ENTREPRENEUR: You'll need to know about your possible competitors, businesses that make products or provide services the same or similar to your own. You'll also want to learn about the strengths and weaknesses of the industries you and your competitors belong to, which may give you some indication of your own business' success. You can learn all of that by using the links below.

IF YOU'RE A BUSINESS RESEARCHER: Here you'll find data on Colorado and national businesses, and the industries to which they belong. You'll also find information on SIC and NAICS industry codes, industry financial ratios, and international trade.

Finding Information on Colorado Businesses

Are you looking for information on a particular Colorado business/company OR the state's overall business environment? If so, see the links below.

Colorado Information Marketplace (CIM) - Business
Provides listings of Colorado business entities, information on professional and occupational license types, trademarks, trade names, and much more.

Colorado Business Resource Book
This book will show you how to start a new business in Colorado, buy an existing one, purchase a franchise, and much more!

Colorado Business Intelligence Center (BIC)
From the Colorado Secretary of State’s office. To help Colorado's entrepreneurs and innovators, BIC provides them with access to the vast amount of data collected by state agencies and local authorities, much of which can be used to facilitate and grow their businesses.
Colorado Business Survey Information Search
Find Colorado businesses by NAICS code, or by the owner's race, gender, veterans' status and/or disability (where applicable).
Minority Business Office of Colorado
Provides information and services to help members of minority groups start their own businesses.

Finding Information on National Companies

The links below won't provide information on all businesses/companies, but only those that meet certain financial criteria and sell stock (are "publicly traded"). Small and/or private companies (that don't sell stock) won't be available here.

EDGAR (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)
Full-text SEC filings, including 10-k's, from the Securities and Exchange Commission home page.
Yahoo Finance
Financial information and commentary on U.S. companies and markets.
Google Finance
A source for stock quotes, financial news, and company information.

Learn about Industries/Products

Industries are groups of businesses/companies that make the same or similar products. Go to the links below to search for industry information. Another way to find this kind of information is to use NAICS and/or SIC codes. Please see the "Industry Codes" box below, for more information.

Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade
Here your can find information on Colorado’s 14 major industries, and programs for small business, domestic and international business development, and special economic development.
Industries at a Glance
Snapshots of of national data obtained from different Bureau of Labor Statistics surveys and programs.
Census Business Builder (CBB)
Provides information about potential customers and competitors for those planning a business, presented in an easy to use map-based interface.
International Trade Administration (ITA): Trade Data & Analysis
Industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
Business data from the U.S. Census Bureau, includes statistics, data, and data visualizations.

Industry Codes

These are lists of numerical codes associated with individual industries. They're intended to make to make it easier to search for information on those industries.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying businesses by industry. NAICS codes are most often used in resources to help users find industry information and companies similar to each other.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
SIC is an older indstry classification system mainly replaced by NAICS in the late 1990's.

Industry Financial Ratios

Financial ratios are used to measure one company against another, or a company against an industry average, in order to benchmark or measure that company's performance. Use the links below to find those ratios.

Financial Report of the United States Government
Comprehensive overview of the Government's current financial position, as well as critical insight into our long term fiscal outlook
U.S. Census Bureau: Monthly and Annual Retail Trade Surveys
Includes the most comprehensive data available on retail economic activity.

Trade

Looking for business opportunities outside of the United States? Use the links below to find out how to do that.

International Trade Administration (ITA)

Part of the United States Department of Commerce, the ITA offers trade advice and data. This site contains foreign trade highlights, metropolitan area exports, state exports to countries and regions, and much more.
International Trade Administration (ITA): Trade Data & Analysis

Industry-by-industry overview of the U.S. economy.