Research Guides: Criminal Justice and Criminology : Laws & Regulations

Federal & State Laws

Westlaw
WestLaw is a collection of law-related resources. It includes important analytical sources, such as Am Jur 2d and the ALR's, as well as law reviews and journals. Primary Law Sources are also included, such as the United States Code Annotated (USCA or US Code), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and the Federal Register, as well as state statutes and regulations, and all federal and state cases.

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to legislative information for the public, members of congress, and legislative agencies. It's presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Congressional Budget Office, the Government Publishing Office, the LOC's Congressional Research Service, the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, and the Office of the Secretary of the Senate.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is a database for congressional publications and legislative research that offers access to U.S. congressional documents from 1789 to the present. It supports research in public policy, historical, and legal areas, with insights into U.S. history and policy development.
GovInfo
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Colorado

Colorado Revised Statutes
The legal code of Colorado, the codified general and permanent statutes of the Colorado General Assembly.
Colorado General Assembly
Official website. Provides full text of bills, laws & other legislative material online from 1997 onwards.
Access for All: Providing a Window to the Legislative Process for Colorado’s Citizens
Searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications; legislation related to each publication; information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level. Unrestricted Access.
State and Local Government on the Net
The State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
Code of Colorado Legislations
The CCR provides the administrative rules of the executive agencies of the state of Colorado.Notices of rulemaking, proposed rules, new and amended rules, and Attorney General rules opinions are published twice monthly in the CCR's companion publication, the Colorado Register. This link will give you access to the online versions of both publications.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) & Federal Register

CFR is an annual subject compilation of all federal regulations in effect, arranged into 50 titles (i.e.broad subject classifications) such as public health. See below for several sources for the CFR:

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) (online)
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Federal Register is a periodical that contains Federal Agency Regulations, Proposed Rules and Public Notices, Executive Orders, Proclamations, an Presidential documents.

The Federal Register: what it is and how to use it (online tutorial)
Produced by the National Archives and Records Administration.
Federal Register
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders. Online coverage: 1936 - present.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.
Guide to CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports on the Web
By Stephen Young. Historical introduction with links to various reports online.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - Military and National Security
Access to CRS Reports on Military and National Security policy hosted by the Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - University of North Texas
"This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990 as well as converted print material."
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Provides non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year, none of which are distributed to the public. Covers subject areas of Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy.