Research Guides: Art & Art History: Article Databases

All Purpose Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, covering topics such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design, with coverage dating back to the 1930s.
JSTOR
Access the full-text of thousands of scholarly journals and books covering the humanities, social sciences, and business. Many journals extend to the first volume. Auraria Library has access to the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection.
LGBTQ+ Source
Full-text literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer issues. Comprehensive coverage ranges from traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional periodical publications to books, bibliographies, and dissertations.
Google Scholar
Full text and citations to scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Full text access via Auraria Library subscriptions have the link "Full-Text@Auraria Library".

Black Studies Center
The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
The primary source documents in this collection includes maps, atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, and more drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library.
Chicano Database
Contains citations from "The Chicano Periodical Index"; "The Chicano Index"; "Arte Chicano: An Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965 -1981; Chicana Studies Index; and "The Chicano Anthology Index."
Indigenous Peoples of North America
This collection covers the history of more than seventy Indigenous tribes within the United States and Canada and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more formats.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Included in Oxford Art Online this Dictionary is a comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies and includes biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale.

International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) covers peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs, essay collections, and exhibition catalogs. It focuses on Western artists. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
Oxford Bibliographies
The Auraria Library has access to guides on Medieval Studies, Islamic Studies, Chinese Studies, Buddhism, Social Work, Military History, Linguistics, International Law, Geography, Evolutionary Biology, Ecology, Criminology, Communications, and Childhood Studies which may be searched individually or simultaneously.
ARTbibliographies Modern
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Grove Art Online
Included in Oxford Art Online, this scholarly art encyclopedia covers global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.

America: History and Life with Full Text
An index of journal articles, magazines, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.

Oxford Bibliographies: Classics
Oxford Classics provides students and researchers access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. You can also explore Subject Areas to find hundreds of articles on more subjects, from African American Studies to Victorian Literature.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, covering topics such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design, with coverage dating back to the 1930s.

Botanical Art & Artists
A comprehensive site about botanical art and illustration, past and present, for botanical artists & illustrators. Many links and book selections. No direct search mechanism but you can use Google to search it by placing site:botanicalartandartists.com after you search term as in "Hunt International Exhibition site:botanicalartandartists.com".

Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more.
Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
View images, commentary, and chronologies related to art through the millennia.
Europeana
Access millions of digital objects: film,photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books,newspapers and archival papers. Selected from already digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.