Research Guides: Urban and Regional Planning: Resources by Subtopic

Resources in Urban Planning

The following databases are related to urban planning, and will most likely provide needed information for your assignments.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
The BuildingGreen database helps users research and identify environmentally sustainable materials and techniques for building and construction. Topics covered include sustainable materials, energy efficient appliances and equipment, building science, building & project types, the design process, and codes & certifications. To access the full site, including the quizzes and continuing education credits, you must create a personal profile using your school's email address, for example, ucdenver.edu, msudenver.edu, ccd.edu.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Covers peer-reviewed and trade publications on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green architecture and construction, transportation, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Engineering

Urban Planning is an interdisciplinary field closely related to engineering.

Economics

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for nearly 600 periodicals.

History

Use the library's history databases to provide background in architecture and historic preservation.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on North American historical topics from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for historical coverage beyond the US and Canada.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updated monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.

Social Sciences

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in sociology, social science and policy science.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. The complete collection also includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Together, these resources provide access to a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications, including articles from major scholarly journals on ethnic studies.

Public Health

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Data on Denver/Colorado

Colorado Department of Local Affairs: Housing
Housing and Economic Data and Analysis for Colorado and its regions.
Colorado Demography Office
Primary state agency for population and demographic information. Its data are used by state agencies to forecast demand for facilities and services.
Colorado Health and Environmental Data
Provides high-quality public health data collection, analysis and reporting services.
Colorado State Archives -- Search
Search the Colorado State Archives for historic documents.
Denver Public Library's (DPL) Genealogy, African American, and Western History
DPL is home to a a premier collection of print and digital materials on western and Colorado history as well as knowledgeable and helpful librarians.

Demographics

data.census.gov
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes information about income, education, insurance, employment, housing, poverty, veterans, and much more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Comprehensive data on the United States summarized and analyzed.

Social Explorer Professional This link opens in a new window
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.Tip: Start with the maps and tables.

Huge Multidisciplinary Databases

Search JSTOR or Google Scholar *after* you have searched through databases in your subject areas. These two resources are useful for checking on whether there are resources that you may have missed. They're useful, but they throw back a lot of information in a disorganized manner.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text journal articles and e-books related to science, technology, engineering, medicine, social social sciences, fine arts and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Full text and/or cited references to scholarly literature (articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions) from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites for virtually all subject areas. Resources available to Auraria Library users have a link labeled "Full-Text@Auraria Library".