Research Guides: Chemistry: Resources by Subtopic

General Chemistry

Web Elements - A Periodic Table Database
An interactive Periodic Table with standard, spiral, and print versions. Each element has detailed information about its qualities.
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
ACD ChemSketch
ChemSketch is a free software created by ADC/Labs. You will have to create an account.
Open Parser for Systematic IUPAC Nomenclature (OPSIN)
Produces a textual representation of chemical structure from a chemical name using SMILES and InChi strings.

Organic & Inorganic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry Portal
Provides name reactions, bond types, protecting groups, and syntheses.
Organic Compounds Database
Fill in the information about the compound and receive at most 20 compound results.
Name Reaction
A list that provides clear schematics on chemical reactions.
Named Reagents
Structure diagrams and references for some important reagents.
RRUFF Project
Welcome to the RRUFF Project website containing an integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals.
Materials Project
The Materials Project is a multi-institution, multi-national effort to compute the properties of all inorganic materials and provide the data and associated analysis algorithms for every materials researcher free of charge.

Biochemistry

Annual Review of Biochemistry
This journal provides useful reference material for current research in the field of Biochemistry.
BRENDA: The comprehensive enzyme information system
The main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community
Protein Data Bank
Provides information about the 3-D structures of biological molecules such as proteins and nucleic acids; free software is available for downloading.
National Toxicology Program
The National Toxicology Program provides the scientific basis for programs, activities, and policies that promote health or lead to the prevention of disease. NTP plays a critical role in generating, interpreting, and sharing toxicological information about potentially hazardous substances in our environment.

Spectra

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
An integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. This resource provides access to different types of spectra.
SpectraBase
A free resource with access to millions of NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and Mass Spectra.
NMRShiftDB
A resource for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. This resource provides access to different types of spectra.

Physical Chemistry

ThermoDex
Contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
NIST Chemical Kinetics Database
A compilation of kinetics data on gas-phase reactions.
Catalysis Hub
A web-platform for sharing data and software for computational catalysis research! The Surface Reactions database contains thousands of reaction energies and barriers from density functional theory (DFT) calculations on surface systems.
ECS Electrochemistry Knowledge Base
This site contains thousands of general and varied information items about electrochemistry, electrochemical engineering, and electrochemical technology in fourteen sections.
MatWeb
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, super alloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Analytical Chemistry

NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods
This manual is a collection of sampling and analytical methods for workplace exposure monitoring. It includes methods for workplace air, surfaces, and blood and urine of exposed workers.
National Environmental Methods Index
NEMI is a searchable database that allows scientists and managers to find and compare analytical and field methods for all phases of environmental monitoring.
EPA Methods
EPA offices and laboratories, and outside organizations, have developed approved methods for measuring the concentration of a substance or pollutant.
Analytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL)
While intended for instructors, this website has useful information, experiments, and learning tools for students.

Cannabis Science

Cannabis, also known as marijuana, is a psychoactive drug harvested from Cannabis plants. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and Cannabidiol (CBD) are the substances within cannabis that are primarily responsible for altering a person's mental state. Medicinal and recreational marijuana use has been legalized in many states and is a growing industry for agriculture, chemistry, and marketing.

Tetrahydrocannabinol from Wikimedia Commons Cannabidiol from Wikimedia Commons

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista includes market and consumer data, statistics, reports, market insights, consumer insights, and company insights in English, German, Spanish and French.

Journal of Cannabis Research
A fully open access, peer-reviewed journal that welcomes submissions covering all topics pertaining to cannabis.
Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research
The premier peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the scientific, medical, and psychosocial exploration of clinical cannabis, cannabinoids, and the endocannabinoid system.

Forensic Science

Physical Evidence Handbook
Designed to provide law enforcement agencies with a tool to help in the collection of crime scene evidence.
The National Institute of Justice
NIJ dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science. Their website includes resources, statistics based on topics, and more.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The national primary source for criminal justice statistics.
American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS)
Dedicated to the application of science to the law and committed to the promotion of education and the elevation of accuracy, precision, and specificity in the forensic sciences. They have resources and publications.
American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors (ASCLD)
ASCLD is a nonprofit professional society of crime laboratory directors and forensic science managers. They develop laboratory management principles and techniques; acquire, preserve and disseminate forensic based information; and promote the highest standards of practice in the field.

Chemistry

Citation

Safety & Standards

Start My Research