Research Guides: Alternative & Complementary Medicine: Scholarly Sources

Key Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CAM on PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the NLM partnered to index articles on complementary medicine. This research data has been added to the larger PubMed database. CAM on PubMed is a subset of PubMed and is searched through restricting PubMed searches to those items indexed as "related to complementary and alternative medicine". Access CAM on PubMed through this link to be automatically directed to the full text resources available only to students, faculty and staff at the Auraria Campus. Non-Auraria patrons use this access point to search the public version of the CAM on PubMed index.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
OVID This link opens in a new window
A large, searchable collection of biomedical books, journals, technical reports, and information sheets.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Index to medical reference materials, magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, a drug finder, directories, and government information. Includes Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and health videos from Healthology, Inc., pamphlets and health-related articles from general interest publications.
American Botanical Council (ABC) Library This link opens in a new window
Herbal medicine information including access to the COMMISSION E MONOGRAPHS, HerbalGram, the HerbClip Online and Healthy Ingredients databases, and the reference books: ABC Clinical Guide to Herbs and The Identification of Medicinal Plants.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Massive collection of scholarly materials covers virtually all topic areas. Content, including articles, proceedings, and more, is pulled from various collections and is cross-searchable.

Allied and Complementary Medicine (AMED)
A unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Dynamed
Completely reimagined for today’s clinicians, DynaMed combines the highest quality evidence-based information, expert guidance and a user-friendly, personalized experience to deliver accurate answers fast at the point of care.

Journals

Acupuncture in Medicine: Journal of the British Medical Acupuncture Society
This journal "aims to promote the scientific understanding of acupuncture and related treatments by publishing scientific investigations of their effectiveness and modes of action as well as articles on their use in health services and clinical practice."
Chinese Journal of Integrative Medicine
"This journal is supervised by State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine, sponsored by Chinese Association of Integrative Medicine and China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences. It is the first international peer-reviewed monthly journal on integrative medicine included in Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-E)."
Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice
This is "an internationally refereed journal published to meet the broad ranging needs of the healthcare profession in the effective and professional integration of complementary therapies within clinical practice."
Complementary Therapies in Medicine
This is "an international, peer-reviewed journal that has considerable appeal to anyone who seeks objective and critical information on complementary therapies or who wishes to deepen their understanding of these approaches."
Journal of Traditional and Complementary Medicine
A bimonthly open-access journal that covers the fields of traditional medicine, herbal medicine, and dietary therapy. The Journal provides a global platform for discussion, perspectives and research on traditional and Complementary medicine.
Chinese Medicine
An open access journal publishing evidence-based, scientifically justified research and review papers in all aspects of Chinese medicine, including - but not limited to - chemistry, biology, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, engineering, clinical applications and socioeconomics that are relevant and significant to Chinese medicine.
Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, open access, biomedical journal whose aim is to create a global platform for hypothesis-driven and evidence-based research in all fields of integrative medicine