Research Guides: Political Science: Legislation & Government Sources

U.S. Federal and State Governments

Federal Government Branches

The Executive Branch
Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to legislative information for the public, members of congress, and legislative agencies. It's presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Congressional Budget Office, the Government Publishing Office, the LOC's Congressional Research Service, the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, and the Office of the Secretary of the Senate.
Official Congressional Directory
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.

State and Local Governments

Meet the Mayors
Search for mayors by last name, city, state, or population.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Links to other state legislatures
State Government Information
(Library of Congress)
U.S. Courts (Federal)

Government - Other

National Historical Publications and Records Commission
Funds projects to document democracy.
Record of American Democracy (ROAD)
(Harvard University)
Vote Smart
Introduction to federal and state-level politics and links to officials and candidates.

Federal Information Databases

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
WestLaw is a collection of law-related resources. It includes important analytical sources, such as Am Jur 2d and the ALR's, as well as law reviews and journals. Primary Law Sources are also included, such as the United States Code Annotated (USCA or US Code), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and the Federal Register, as well as state statutes and regulations, and all federal and state cases.
GovInfo This link opens in a new window
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to legislative information for the public, members of congress, and legislative agencies. It's presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Congressional Budget Office, the Government Publishing Office, the LOC's Congressional Research Service, the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, and the Office of the Secretary of the Senate.
CQ Magazine
In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved. Coverage: 1983 - present

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional is a database for congressional publications and legislative research that offers access to U.S. congressional documents from 1789 to the present. It supports research in public policy, historical, and legal areas, with insights into U.S. history and policy development.

Colorado General Assembly

The State of Colorado provides access to current and previous session records, 1997 to present, including proposed bills; committee reports, fiscal notes; current votes and final laws.

House proceedings are summarized in the House Journals and Calendars. The history behind House and Senate bills can sometimes be obtained by interviewing the sponsor of the bill or by researching issues through newspaper and news bureau coverage.

Colorado General Assembly
Official website. Provides full text of bills, laws & other legislative material online from 1997 onwards.
Colorado Legislative Directory - "Pink Book"
A directory of people in the Colorado General Assembly.
Colorado Legislative District Maps
The Legislative Process
PDF
Colorado Major Legislative Issues
1999 - Present
Legislative Research Resources
Session Laws of Colorado - 1993 to Present
After the adjournment of each session, the Office of Legislative Legal Services indexes and publishes all the bills and concurrent resolutions passed at that session together with those resolutions & memorials designated for printing.
Terms Used in the Legislative Process
Live and Repeat Coverage of the Colorado Legislative
Providing Coloradans with the opportunity to watch and listen to the Colorado General Assembly at work. 2008 - current

Political Science

Step-by-Step Guide to Finding Colorado Legislation

Policy Research

Country Information

U.S. Federal and State Governments

Federal Information Databases

Colorado General Assembly