Research Guides: Public Health: Article Databases

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

BioMed Central
Provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Based on the best available information about healthcare interventions, Cochrane reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.
NCBI Databases This link opens in a new window
NCBI Databases provides a global search (GQuery) of key NCBI databases in medical literarture (PubMed, PubMed Central), and health, genome, genes, proteins and chemical data.
OVID This link opens in a new window
A large, searchable collection of biomedical books, journals, technical reports, and information sheets.

PLoS Medicine
Open access to peer-reviewed medical articles.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Academic, professional and consumer Information on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including vegetarianism, massage, medicinal herbs, yoga, homeopathic medicine, hypnosis, Chinese medicine, aromatherapy, and acupuncture.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Formerly the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM).

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. Â Includes abstracts and citations from scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and Conference Papers Index. Previously known as Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Major indexing and abstracting database covering psychology, social work, educational psychology, and related disciplines.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text of journal articles and non-journal literature (aka ERIC documents or ED documents) selected by the Educational Resources Information Center using the EBSCO interface. Future additions to the EBSCO collection may include audio and video materials.
Social Explorer Professional This link opens in a new window
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.Tip: Start with the maps and tables.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center.

Public Health Journals

American Journal of Public Health
The American Journal of Public Health (AJPH) is dedicated to the publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The mission of the journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.
Auraria Library Public Health Journals
A listing of our public health journal subscriptions found in Browzine.
BMJ Global Health
An open access, online journal dedicated to publishing high-quality peer-reviewed content relevant to those involved in global health, including policy makers, funders, researchers, clinicians and frontline healthcare workers.
Emerging Infectious Diseases
An open access journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Ethnicity & Disease
An international journal that exclusively publishes information on the causal and associative relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
Health Affairs
Health Affairs is the leading journal of health policy thought and research. The peer-reviewed journal was founded in 1981 under the aegis of Project HOPE, a nonprofit international health education organization. Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres.
Health Promotion Practice
A bi-monthly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes authoritative research, commentary, practical tools, and promising practices that strategically advance the art and science of health promotion and disease prevention.