Research Guides: Anthropology: Linguistics

Article Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Indexes communication and mass-media related journals. Many of the journals are included from their first issues to the present, dating as far back as 1915.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical literary and language scholarship and provides access to journals and serials, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialized periodicals, to film scripts and cook books. Hundreds of new entries are added annually.

Journal of Linguistics
An open access journal that is concerned with all branches of theoretical linguistics. Preference is given to original Research Articles which present analyses or generalisations based on sound empirical work, which results in making a clear contribution to current debate in theoretical linguistics.
Language and Communication
Provides a forum devoted to the interdisciplinary study of language and communication
Linguistics
Publishes articles addressing research questions of current or general relevance that make a significant contribution to our understanding of human language as a system of communication or a cognitive, social and historical phenomenon.
Linguistic Inquiry
Leads the field in research on current topics in linguistics.
Morphology
Publishes high quality articles that contribute to further morphological theory and its articulation with linguistic theory in general, or present new and unexplored data relevant to morphological theory.

Ethnologue
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,900+ known living languages
Teaching Indigenous Languages
Sponsored by the National Geographic Society and dedicated to preserving endangered languages.
WordNet
From Princeton University. An online lexical reference system whose design is inspired by psycholinguistic theories of human lexical memory. English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are organized into synonym sets, each representing one underlying lexical concept. Different relations link the synonym sets.
Folklife and Fieldwork: An Introduction to Field Techniques
Documents and shares the many expressions of human experience to inspire, revitalize, and perpetuate living cultural traditions.