Research Guides: Education: Scholarly Sources

Article Databases

Middle Search Plus
Designed primarily for middle- and junior high school audiences, this database contains full text for more than 150 popular magazines, and provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Full text is available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and pamphlets, and primary sources. Over 100,000 images (photos, maps, and flags) are included.
Primary Search
Provides full text for many popular magazines, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries for elementary school students. Magazines included: Ask, Click, Cricket, Fun for Kidz, Highlights, Ladybug, Muse, Ranger Rick, Scholastic News, Sports Illustrated Kids, Stone Soup, and TIME for Kids. All full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Useful for high school level research. Provides full text for over 500 general interest publications, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from 119 journals, including Psychological Review, published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and others. Includes articles about all areas of psychology.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Key database for all education related topics. Contains over one million records for journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Contains abstracts and full text for many records.

Early Childhood Journals

Early Childhood Research Quarterly
Influenced the field of early childhood education and development through the publication of empirical research that meets the highest standards of scholarly and practical significance.
Early Childhood Education Journal
Professional publication for early childhood practitioners, such as classroom teachers, child care providers, and teacher educators, all of whom are dedicated to the education and care of young children, ages birth through eight.
International Journal of Early Years Education
Forum for researchers and practitioners to debate the theories, research, policy and practice which sustain effective early years education world-wide. It offers a comparative perspective on early years research and major new initiatives in the care and education of young children.