Research Guides: Geology: Maps

Databases

AtoZ Maps Online
AtoZ Maps Online is the world’s most comprehensive collection of royalty-free downloadable maps for schools, academic institutions, and public libraries. Students, teachers, library patrons, and businesses can use our more than 100,000 maps in school reports, school lesson plans, personal research projects, and business reports.
Social Explorer
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Tip: Start with the maps and tables.

National Geological Map Database (NGMD)
Contains digital copies of over 90,000 recent and historic geologic maps of the United States and its territories. Features an advanced search, an index of geologic terms, information about current geologic mapping projects, and MapView, a map-based visual browsing interface.
Map Collections of the Library of Congress
This collection contains the maps in the Library of Congress Geography and Maps Division which have been scanned into a digital format. Contains historic and recent maps, but focuses on maps in the public domain.
USGS Topographical Map Locator
The USGS provides this Google Maps-based tool to help users locate, view, and download current and archival topographic maps. File sizes can be large; be prepared for lengthy downloads.
Geo.data.gov
A subset of data.gov, this site allows users to search or browse for United States government maps and geo-spatial data. This is not a complete collection, but it does allow for broad cross-collection searches.
University of Colorado Boulder Libraries: Map Library Collection
Includes Sanborn Maps, historical aeriel photos of Colorado, mining maps and more.
University of Colorado Boulder Digital Collection: The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Collection
Contains digital versions of maps made by D.A. Sanborn insurance company of 79 cities in Colorado between the years of 1883 and 1922. The complete print collection covers 560 cities 1883-1937, and can be viewed by appointment.

Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Maps from an atlas published in 1932, are enhanced and animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data. Some data highlighted include location of Native Americans, Distribution of Wealth, Boundaries, Political Parties and Opinions, and more.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial/temporal analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Maintains a collection of historic maps spanning the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century. Although not limited to a single geographic subject, the collection heavily emphasizes Georgia as colony and state.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Historical map collection with over 38,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
WWW Virtual Library
Images of early maps on the web