Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's in this Guide
Each tabbed page in this guide highlights one of the diverse, though often interrelated, areas in the study of Anthropology and Archaeology and features recommendations for article databases, representative books titles, useful websites, and notable journals in the field.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Online, full text access to key anthropology periodicals, including journals and newsletters.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A suite of searchable full-text scholarly journals.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Supplies indexing of global publications in the fields of social, cultural, medical, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, as well as ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus represents the combined contents of Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute.
Important Note: This content is not retrieved when using the Library home page search box since retrieval for that search box is limited to full-text resources. Please go direct to this database. Unowned material may be efficiently borrowed through the Library's interlibrary loan service at no cost to Auraria campus users.
Find full-text ebooks, as well as records representing physical books, by searching by title, author or keywords describing your topic using:
Search for books, journals, videos, and databases. Verify that Auraria Library owns or does not own an item, in print or online, by running a search here. It does *not* search for articles.
Start My Research
Search thousands of sources available through Auraria Library including databases, journals, articles, media, books, and more. Limit by material type, publication date, author, and more.This is the same as the search box on Auraria Library's homepage.
Not in our library? Search this catalog, which has material from academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Auraria Campus students, staff, and faculty can request over 30 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other material at no charge and the item(s) will be delivered to Auraria Library for pick-up.
Still no luck? Get materials from libraries around the world here. This extremely comprehensive catalog lists the holdings of thousands of libraries throughout North America & beyond.
Many of the Library's newest book resources are no longer in physical format, but instead you'll frequently find that eBooks, are your best options. The guide below shows its simple to pinpoint ebooks.
Find reviews and recommendations for anthropological materials using ARD.
Still, browsing the Library's physical book collection can be an interesting way to uncover topics of interest. Books are arranged by "call numbers" based on the Library of Congress classification system. Each call number starts with a letter or letters, and represents a subject area. Some places to browse include:
- BL Mythology
- CC Archaeology
- E51-99 History-American Indians
- F1200-3999 Latin/South America History
- GN Anthropology (General)
- GR Folklore, Manners and Customs
- GT, TT Clothing and Dress; Costume History
- HM Sociology & Sociological Theory
- HT Communities, Classes and Races
- P Linguistics