Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Videos & Streaming Media: Streaming Video Collections

Auraria Library's Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Video Tips

  • Browse within a specific collection to find interesting films you may not otherwise find. Most databases have topics or subjects you can browse.
  • Many databases also offer advanced search options, including transcript searching or limiting by genre.
  • Most of the Library's streaming video collections supply the citation you need for a bibliography.
  • Create a free account to take full advantage of useful extras such as the ability to create clips.
  • Most videos include full transcripts and/or closed-captioning.

Creating Clips

After accessing these databases from Auraria Library's website, create an account. The registration process is simple and each database requires a user to be logged in to create clips.

Alexander Street (Includes Academic Video Online (AVON), Counseling & Therapy in Video, Filmmakers Library, Opera in Video,  and Theatre in Video.)

     Creating Clips

  • Click on Clips at the top of the screen.
  • Choose start and end times by dragging the green start box and red end box to the desired points

Films on Demand (FOD)

     Creating Clips

  • All Films on Demand videos have pre-made segments in a list on the left side of the opening page.
  • At the bottom of the pre-made segment list, click on Create Custom Segment
  • Fill in start and end time for the clip you're creating

     Using Captioning

     To set captioning as the default:

  • Sign into your user account.
  • Click User Options in the upper right.
  • In the User Options menu, click My User Preferences.
  • Under Closed Captioning, select the Show by Default checkbox.

     Using Interactive Transcripts

  • Click on the Transcript tab to the right of the video player to view the interactive transcript.
  • Jump to a different section of the video by clicking on a word within the transcript; the video will skip to that point.
  • Jump back or ahead using the status bar on top of the transcript module, or within the player itself. Or, use the Search bar to locate a specific part.

     Saving the URL to a Films on Demand Video

  • Don't use the web page URL at the top of the page - that URL is not permanent, and may change.  
  • Use the Title or Segment URL located beneath the opening screen of a video.

Kanopy (Note: Though Kanopy's a great collection, getting to the clip-making process is not intuitive. It's not difficult, just not obvious!)

     Creating Clips

  • In the More menu under the video screen, choose Create Clip/Playlist
  • A Create Playlist box will appear. Name the Playlist and choose Create
  • Choose Edit Playlist
  • Choose Edit
  • You will now be able to name and describe your clip and choose a start and end time for the clip