Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biography Databases & Online Encyclopedias
Academy of Achievement
Features lengthy interviews with "achievers and visionaries."
Biographical information from A&E Television's Biography Channel.
If you need biographical info on a current scholar...
If you are researching someone who is current scholar/academic, you may run into some special challenges. Even if the person has already done influential work, he or she may not appear in any biographical sources. Here are a few options you can try:
- Search for the person's professional homepage/website. Many academic faculty members and other professionals maintain these. Most will have a little bit of biographical information. They will also have contact information. Don't hesitate to contact your psychologist -- but make sure you ask him or her specific questions. This generally leads to the best conversations possible.
- Many researchers appear in Wikipedia. Wikipedia itself is not an appropriate source, but each article has a list of references at the bottom. If you scroll down the reference list, you will often find articles that include biographical information.
- Talk with your professor if you're still running into trouble. The two of you can often find solutions together.
Here is the basic order in which info about a scholar appears in media.
- Web pages (personal, departmental, professional organizations)
- Scholarly articles by the person
- Scholarly articles referencing the person's work
- News articles
- Book chapters by the person
- Scholarly articles discussing the person's work in more depth
- Books in the popular press
- Short biographies (anthologized)
- Book-length commentaries (biographical or critical)
Articles about People
Newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and journals frequently profile famous and historic figures. Find those articles using the Library's databases.
Search for the word biographies, biography, or obituary combined with the name of a person, such as Julius Caesar biography. Use another descriptive word or phrase if you don't have a particular person in mind, such as biographies photographers, for example.
Nearly all of the Auraria Library article databases contain some biographical information. Here are a few examples of databases you might try:
America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full text local, regional, and national newspapers, as well as transcripts, blogs, and more. Has Colorado publications, including The Denver Post.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Writings from journals and historical magazines on non-U.S. historical figures of note.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers aims to be comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy. It's maintained by the community of philosophers and contains research content from journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. PhilPapers also hosts and integrates largest open access archive in philosophy, PhilArchives, which is also accessible as a separate site. For more information on PhilPapers, including how to submit writings, consult the PhilPapers Frequently Asked Questions section.
Start My Research
Search thousands of sources available through Auraria Library including databases, journals, articles, media, books, and more. Limit by material type, publication date, author, and more.This is the same as the search box on Auraria Library's homepage.
Biography on Video
Find videos in streaming and physical formats that focus on the lives of individuals.
Below is a sampling of biographical videos.