Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video Tips
- Browse within a specific collection to find interesting films you may not otherwise find. Most databases have topics or subjects you can browse.
- Many databases also offer advanced search options, including transcript searching or limiting by genre.
- Most of the Library's streaming video collections supply the citation you need for a bibliography.
- Create a free account to take full advantage of useful extras such as the ability to create clips.
- Most videos include full transcripts and/or closed-captioning.
Streaming Video Collections
Films on Demand
Access more than 100,000 educational films and 300,000 video clips covering a wide spectrum of subject disciplines. Most streaming videos are close-captioned and titles may be embedded or linked in syllabi, course management systems, and other materials. Note: To link to a video or video segment, click on "Share" under the video you are watching and then click on the Embed/Link tab. Copy the URL in the Record URL box. Do NOT copy the URL in the web browser, as that URL expires quickly.
Filmakers Library Online
Award-winning streaming video documentaries including coverage of race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, dance, literature, and more. Synchronized, searchable transcripts run alongside each video.Users can create, annotate, and organize clips.and include links to other content. Permanent URLs let users cite and share whole videos, playlists, and custom clips.
Kanopy Streaming Videos
Find videos ranging from documentaries and educational programming, worldwide, on a wealth of topics, to silent and foreign feature films. Distributors include The Teaching Company, Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, and others.
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
These collections are a gold mine of online primary source materials collected by the world's largest library, The Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. United States History is especially well-represented, though the collection breadth is extensive. Contents include as Civil War photographs and music, U.S. slave narratives, women suffrage materials, historic advertising, early maps, music recordings and scores, English dialect recordings, gold rush narratives, cartoons, daguerreotypes, papers of distinguished individuals, Look Magazine photos, labor materials, posters, and much more.
Streaming Video Websites
Internet Archive: Moving Pictures Archive
Movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
UCLA Preserved Silent Animation
From the UCLA Film & Television Archive. Watch films with no sound or accompanied by music. Includes film notes and historical overviews of each film.
Thousands of free films and videos. Quality can be awful, but site's manifesto advises viewers not to care about that!