Research Guides: Fine Arts 4950: Studio BFA Thesis: Art Databases/Search Engines

Art Databases

You can search for articles using databases or indexes. Many provide the full text of the article, while some databases display a link to library holdings, i.e., does the Auraria Library provide access to this article?

Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts of international peer-reviewed journals, exhibition reviews, trade publications, and museum bulletins. Topics inlcude new artists, contemporary art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, photography, pottery, and sculpture.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library that contains hundreds of thousands of high-resolution images of art, architecture, and archaeological artifacts. Each image is accompanied by descriptive information. The Auraria Library's subscription to ARTstor also offers ArchiVision (architecture) and Shared Shelf (images created and shared by campus faculty).

ARTstor Help Topics
This links to several YouTube videos and other HELP sections that provide for help in using ARTstor.

JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journals in anthropology, archaeology, ecology, history, language, literature, economics, ecology, mathematics, philosophy, political science and population studies. Coverage: Usually from the beginning of publication until 5 years before the present.
Oxford Art Online
FUNCTIONS AS A DICTIONARY/ENCYCLOPEDIA, like a "Wikipedia" but maintained and updated by Art Historians and Scholars. Includes Grove Art Online (a comprehensive online encyclopedia of the visual arts including articles and images), Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. NOTE: Links in e-mails sent by this database will not allow access from off campus. From off campus re-search the database for the specific article.
Art Index Retrospective
Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, yearbooks, trade publications, and museum bulletins published between 1929 and 1984. An in-depth record of contemporary art history.

Additional Art Databases

Open Web Sources

Artchive
Multi-link site recommended by many art professors.
Artcyclopedia
The Fine Art search engine. "We have compiled a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. We have started out by covering the biggest and best sites around, and have links for most well-known artists to keep you surfing for hours." Over 1200 arts sites indexed plus more than 32,000 links to an estimated 100,000 works by 7,500 renowned artists.

more... less...

A WWW site
ArtSource
"...a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc. This site is intended to be selective, rather than comprehensive. For help in locating specific art-related information the *BEST* source of information is your local art librarian... {from the Artsource site}.
World Wide Art Resources
"...over 89,000 works of contemporary art. Search by medium, subject matter, price and theme... research over 200,000 work by over 22,000 masters in the in depth art history section. Browse through new Art Blogs.