Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS is the federal governments principal vital and health statistics agency. NCHS provides data on vital events (birth and mortality) as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care. The National Survey of Family Growth also includes information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.
National Survey of Family Growth
A source of information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Provides access to a wide variety of reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. The datasets provide access to a variety of information including: AIDS cases reported by state and local health departments, cancer statistics, disease by classification number, mortality, sexually transmitted disease morbidity, and tuberculosis surveillance.
Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI)
These annual rankings reveal how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. Select your state and county to get an overview of the health factors and rankings in your area.
Health and Retirement Study
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study surveys more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 years every two years. Supported by the National Institute of Aging and the Social Security Administration, the collects information about income, work, health insurance, disability, physical and mental health, and health care expenditures.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Provides access to national statistics and trends about hospital stays which includes information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)
The SEER Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information for cancer incidence and survival statistics in the United States.
National Healthcare Disparities Report
This full text report is available from the Department of Health and Human Services. Click on the link to full text access and follow the directions on the screen.
U.S. National Library of Medicine: Health Statistics
Health Statistics Guide covers virtually all health topics. Use the menu on the left to find your topic.
International Health Statistics
Carolina Population Center
(Univeristy of North Carolina): This center is “a community of scholars and professionals collaborating on interdisciplinary research and methods that advance understanding of population issues.” A number of their current research projects relate to health. The research can also be browsed by theme.
MEASURE DHS: Demographic and Health Surveys
Assists developing countries in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, child health, infant mortality, HIV/AIDS/STIs, and reproductive health.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
Search for data by country or region on vital statistics, health, nutrition, disease, etc. From the World Health Organization (WHO).
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO has multiple websites, reports and research with health information and data including the World Health Report, Data Repository, Country Statistics, Maps and more.
Rates of HIV Diagnosis Among Adults and Adolescents in the U.S. in 2015 by State