Welcome to the class guide for the Community College of Denver's College Composition and Reading classes!
This guide will provide information about resources that are needed to complete your assignments.
Integrates and contextualizes college level reading and writing. Students will read and understand complex materials and respond to ideas and information through writing informative and/or persuasive texts.
Reference Sources: Such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, etc. can be online or in print and provide great background information about a topic. Subject specific reference sources are written by researchers in that field.
Article Databases: Often, databases are online collections of journal article citations and full-text. Find articles about a specific topic by using keywords, subject headings, authors, and more.
Journals: Journals are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles by searching journals individually or through database searches.
Peer-Reviewed Journals: Peer-reviewed material are publications reviewed by experts/referees prior to the publication of the material. After reading and evaluating the material, the referee informs the publisher if the document should be published or if changes should be made prior to publication. Peer-reviewed materials are also referred to as refereed. Peer-reviewed materials are significant to most academic fields because they assure readers that the information is reliable and timely. Many article databases now allow you to limit your search to display only peer-reviewed results. Note: beware the "scholarly" label...as we've seen, a source can be "scholarly," but not necessarily peer-reviewed. Look for "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" to be sure.
