Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bets: Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias, timelines, quotations, and subject and language dictionaries. Find substantial topic overviews, in-depth information, as well as short definitions. Content is heavier in the arts and humanities but includes titles in the social sciences and sciences.
Britannica, and the resources bundled within the collection, supply topic overviews, biographies, word and concept definitions, a world atlas, historical timelines, quotations, illustrations, photos, videos, links to relevant articles and websites, primary sources, and the World Data Analyst, supplying customizable charts and tables of statistics on countries of the world. Users can suggest edits and additions to content. Note: Britannica ACADEMIC World Atlas is only available on campus. Check the end of each article for a Citation Exporter.
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Search in one of Cambridge’s four English Language dictionaries: the Cambridge English dictionary (including Advanced Learner’s Dictionary, Academic Content Dictionary, and Business English Dictionary), the Cambridge Learner’s Dictionary, the Cambridge Essential American English Dictionary, and the Cambridge Essential British English Dictionary. This site also provides translation dictionaries, a thesaurus, and English grammar explanations and examples.
History Reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history, the History Reference Center contains full-text historical documents and articles from reference books, history magazines, journals, and newspapers. Additionally, it provides timelines, biographies, maps, photos and video clips.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center contains monographs, journals and magazines, and reference works on scientific topics including physical sciences, life sciences, and earth and space science.
Find Books via Auraria Library
Start My Research
Find books and ebooks by using the search box on Auraria Library's homepage. Limit the search to Books only.
- Search for a book by author, title, subject or keyword(s) describing your topic.
- Your results will contain both print books and ebooks.
- For print books, write down the call number to locate the book in the Library.
- For ebooks, a green "Full Text Online" icon will appear beside the title. Click on the icon to access the full-text.
Does Auraria Library own the item?
Though Auraria Library has access to thousands of online and print materials, no library has everything. However, it's likely you can get access to an item through other sources!
Start My Research
Enter the title to determine if Auraria Library has a copy of the book. Limit by material type, publication date, author, and more.
Not in our library? Search this catalog, which has material from academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Auraria Campus students, staff, and faculty can request over 30 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other material at no charge and the item(s) will be delivered to Auraria Library for pick-up.
Still no luck? Get materials from libraries around the world here. This extremely comprehensive catalog lists the holdings of thousands of libraries throughout North America & beyond.
Can't find an item anywhere? Request the item via Interlibrary Loan. You can request journal articles, books, and other material. You will first need to create an account and then enter the citation information of the item you need.