Skip to main content

Brewing Industry: Lifestyles (Psychographics)

Searching for Lifestyle (Psychographic) Information

Students doing marketing research often need lifestyle (aka psychographic) information, i.e. information about consumer's product preferences (such as "do you drink beer", and "what kind?") and recreational activities, usually in a specific geographical area.  The Auraria Library has a number of Marketing Databases, all of which can be found on our Database List, and many of these can provide that kind of information (along with many other kinds of marketing data, such as Demographics).  See below for the names of two databases from that list that are especially good for lifestyle searches!  However, these databases can be difficult to understand and search, so there are instructions below how how to use each of them.  The examples below show you how to do a lifestyle search in Claritas 360 and Simmons Insights, but only for one kind of product, beer!  If you choose to do another kind of lifestyle search in these databases, i.e. to search for something else, somewhere else, just change the product and geographical indicators below.    

Claritas 360 (through SRDS)

HOW TO SEARCH:

In this example, we'll look for information on "Bud Light" drinkers in Denver County.  Click on the SRDS link above, then CLICK ON THE ITEMS IN BOLD BELOW, which you’ll find in that database, and do so in the following order:

  1. Claritas 360
  2. Log into Claritas 360
  3. Reports
  4. Segmentation Reports
  5. Lifestyler Reports
  6. Market Potential
  7. Under “Select Segmentation Systems”, click on Prizm Premier (if it isn’t already activated!).
  8. Under “Select a Base”, click on Households (Zip +4) (if it isn’t already activated!).
  9. Next
  10. Claritas Profiles
  11. Claritas Consumer Profiles
  12. Alcohol
  13. Domestic Light Beer Drank Past 30 Days Bud-Light
  14. Next
  15. At this point you’ll need to pick a geographical area. You can select data from the whole U.S., one or more states, one or more Designated Market Areas (i.e. metropolitan areas), and/or one or more counties.  In this case, we'll pick a county.
  16. County
  17. Within State
  18. Colorado
  19. Denver County
  20. Next
  21. On the following “Include Parent Geographies” page, leave defaults as is.  Don't change anything!
  22. Submit
  23. Wait for the report to load.  It will give you a number of options to select, but just ignore them!  Just wait for the report to load.
  24. Report Output: Excel
  25. Excel spreadsheet
  26. Table View tab – Under this tab you’ll find a table showing Bud Lite Consumption in the last 30 days for every county in Colorado.  You’ll have to select Denver County from that list.
    • How to decipher the columns in Table View:
      • Base Count - total number of adults in that market.  Example: there are 323,013 adults in Denver County.
      • Base % Comp - percentage of households in the selected geography compared to the total number of households in the base geography.  Example: Denver County (i.e. the selected geography) makes up 14.19% of the households in the Denver Designated Market Area (i.e. the base geography).  NOTE – In some cases, depending on the search you do, the selected geography and the base geography will be the same thing, in which case the percentage will be 100!
      • Estimated users – number of people in the selected geography consuming the product in question.  Example: 70,375 people in Denver County drank Bud Lite within the last 30 days.
      • % Comp - percentage of estimated users in selected geography compared to the total number of estimated users in the base geography. Example: Out of the Bud Lite drinkers in the last 30 days located in the Denver Designated Market Area, 13.7% are located in Denver County.  NOTE – In some cases, depending on the search you do, the selected geography and the base geography will be the same thing, in which case the percentage will be 100!
      • Users/100 HHs - proportion of households/adults that have the profile behavior compared to the total households in the selected geography. Example: out of every 100 households in Denver County, there are an estimated 21.79 households that have drunk Bud Lite in the last 30 days.
      • Market Potential Index – how the geographical area selected compares with the national average (which is 100).  A number above 120 or below 80 is statistically significant for purposes of comparison.  Example: the Market Potential Index (MPI) for Denver County is 99, meaning the consumption of Bud Lite in the last 30 days is just slightly below the national average, which is 100.  Summit County’s Bud Lite consumption in the last 30 days, on the other hand, with an MPI of 138, (which, of course, is above 120) is well above the national average (go to the bottom of the table to find Summit County).

This database can be used to search for all kinds of marketing information, not just lifestyles, so if you'd like more information on how to use it please go to these instructions.

Simmons Insights (NOTE: only 2 people can use this database at one time!)

HOW TO SEARCH:

In this example, we'll look for information on the consumption of craft beer in Colorado.  Click on the Simmons link above, then CLICK ON OR ENTER THE ITEMS IN BOLD BELOW, which you’ll find in or enter into the database, and do so in the following order:

  1. Go to the Search Bar and enter Colorado
    1. This will give you a variety of options.  Select Colorado State Code (when you do your own searches here you should start off in this way, by picking the geographical area you want first).
    2. NOTE: 1) You can select or exclude multiple geographical categories in the following fashion: Colorado AND Arizona, Colorado OR Arizona, Colorado NOT Arizona, etc. (but in this example we’re only going to select Colorado - see C below), 2) These are all self explanatory, except for “XOR”, which allows you to search for people who have one thing of two, but not both – e.g. have a dog, but not a cat, or have a cat, but not a dog, 3) If you combine two or more geographical categories (such as Colorado AND Arizona), the numbers for each of those categories will be combined into one number when your results table is produced (at the end of the search process), not separated into 2 or more numbers in that table.  So it’s best to search for only one of these geographical categories at one time ( Colorado for instance). 
    3. After you select “Colorado State Code”, then click on BASE next to the search bar.
  2. Go to the Search Bar and enter 18
    1. Again, this will give you a variety of options.  Select 18-24 (an age range). 
    2. NOTE: 1) Again, you can select multiple categories, e.g. 18-24 AND 25-34,  35-44 OR 45-54, etc. (but in this case we’re only going to select 18-24), 2) If you combine two or more of these categories, the numbers for each of those categories will NOT be combined into one number, but separated into 2 or more separate numbers in the results table.
    3. After you select “18-24”, then click on COLUMNS next to the search bar.
  3. Go to the Search Bar and enter Beer.
    1. Again, this will give you a variety of options.  Select Beer: Crafted/Microbrewed Do You Drink?  You’ll then need to select “Yes”, “No”, “Don’t Know/No Answer” (as regards the above question) before you can proceed.  Select Yes
    2. NOTE: 1) Again, you can select multiple categories, e.g. Yes AND No, No AND Don’t Know/No Answer, etc. (as regards the question above) – In this case we’re only going to select “Yes”.  2) If you combine two or more of these categories, the numbers for each of those categories will NOT be combined into one number.
    3. After you select Yes, then click on ROWS next to the search bar.
  4. Click on the Run arrow, next to the “ROWS” box.  This will produce two tables: 1) Craft Beer Drinkers in Colorado and 2) 18-24 year old Craft Beer Drinkers in Colorado.
  5. In the fact column on the left hand side of the page you’ll see a button for “Study Universe” and one for the Colorado Base.  The Colorado Base button is the default, and it produces the 2 tables mentioned above in #4.  If you activate the “Study Universe” button it will produce two tables: 1) Craft Beer Drinkers in nationally and 2) 18-24 year old Craft Beer Drinkers nationally.
  6. The fact column not only shows what Bases are selected (i.e. “Study Universe” or Colorado), but what Columns are selected (i.e. target groups, such as 18-24 year olds) and what Rows (i.e. questions and answers from the target group, such as “Yes, I drink Craft Beer”).
  7. Interpreting the table for 18-24 year old Craft Beer Drinkers in Colorado.
    • NOTE: The definitions below make more sense when you’re looking at the actual table!  Also, you may see numbers in the table beginning with either * or *** = “Indicates a cell count from 31 to 60. Projections may be unstable, use with caution”, and ** = “Indicates a cell count below 31. Projections are likely unstable, use with caution.”
    • All tables have columns with the same 5 names: Sample, Weighted, Vertical %, Horizontal %, and Index.  See below to find definitions of each column, with examples of each (these examples are related to the 18-24 year olds in Colorado table). 
      1. Sample – The number of people surveyed who meet both the column and row criteria: There are **2, 18-24 year olds who drink Craft Beer out of the **8 sampled in Colorado.
      2. Weighted – Expressed in thousands, the projected number of adults (18-24 year olds) in Colorado who meet both the column and row criteria: There are **110, 18-24 year olds in Colorado drink Craft Beer out of the **157 sampled.
      3. Vertical % – Percent of the column reached by the row: Of 18-24 year olds, 70% of them in Colorado drink Craft Beer.
      4. Horizontal % - Percent of the row reached by the column:  Of those who drink Craft Beer, **8% of them are 18-24 year olds.
      5. Index – The likelihood of the target to meet a specified criterion, expressed in relation to the base, where 100 = average. (Index can be applied either column to row, or row to column): 18-24 year olds in Colorado are almost twice as likely to drink Craft Beer than those in the whole of the U.S., OR those who drink Craft Beer in Colorado are more than 2 times more likely to be 18-24 year olds than any adults 18+ in the state. This is a consequence of the Total+Index number in the 18-24 table being 100, and the Yes(Beer-Craft…)+Index number in that same table being 204, i.e. 204 is over 2 times 100.

This database can be used to search for all kinds of marketing information, not just lifestyles, so if you'd like more information on how to use it please go to these instructions.