Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources in Urban Planning
You will probably find most of the information for your urban planning assignments through the list of databases below.
Covers peer-reviewed and trade publications on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green architecture and construction, transportation, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
The BuildingGreen database helps users research and identify environmentally sustainable materials and techniques for building and construction. Topics covered include sustainable materials, energy efficient appliances and equipment, building science, building & project types, the design process, and codes & certifications. To access the full site, including the quizzes and continuing education credits, you must create a personal profile using your school's email address, for example, ucdenver.edu, msudenver.edu, ccd.edu.
Huge Multidisciplinary Databases
Search JSTOR or Google Scholar *after* you have searched through databases in your subject areas. These two resources are useful for checking on whether there are resources that you may have missed. They're useful, but they throw back a lot of information in a disorganized manner.
ScienceDirect, aka SciVerse ScienceDirect, contains journal articles and e-books in the life, physical, medical, technical, social sciences, fine arts and humanities from the publisher Elsevier. SciVerse Scopus is not available, please use Web of Science. Opposite click & save the link to the article or download the article to your computer, personal web space, or a flash drive. Do not email yourself a link. Note: ScienceDirect is occasionally inaccessible from off campus. We are working to correct this problem.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
Full text and/or cited references to scholarly literature (articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions) from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites for virtually all subject areas. Resources available to Auraria Library users have a link labeled "Auraria Library Resources".
Databases in History
Use the library's history databases to provide background in architecture and historic preservation.
America: History and Life with Full Text
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on North American historical topics from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for historical coverage beyond the US and Canada.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updated monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.
Databases in the Social Sciences
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in sociology, social science and policy science.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. The complete collection also includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Together, these resources provide access to a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications, including articles from major scholarly journals on ethnic studies.
Databases in Engineering
Need some information on the engineering behind your architecture?
Engineering Village offers resources in the applied science and engineering fields. It provides access to Compendex (ex-Engineering Index) and INSPEC. Note: Works with Chrome or Firefox.
Databases in Public Health
Databases in Economics
EconLit with Full Text
EconLit with Full Text provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews in all fields of economics and full text for nearly 600 periodicals.
Social Explorer Professional
Create and save demographic maps and reports down to the U.S. neighborhood and street level using U.S. census data, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout U.S. history. Also useful in developing an understanding of the census data is an e-book on the history of the census, Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000.Tip: Start with the maps and tables.
Colorado Demography Office
Primary state agency for population and demographic information. Its data are used by state agencies to forecast demand for facilities and services.