Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chapter 1 focuses on "The Beginnings of Architecture." Sections within the chapter discuss architecture throughout Egypt, the Middle East, and Europe. The resources on this page will help you to research architecture and the history of that period.
Books, Ebooks, & Videos
Historical Dictionary of Architecture (ebook) by
Call Number: NA200 .P35 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Provides a historical overview of the major architectural developments and styles, building materials and types, major structures and locations, sites and architects. Historical eras like ancient Egyptian architecture and the Renaissance in Europe and movements such as Art Deco are covered. Materials discussed range from concrete, stone, glass and wood, while types of structures include architectural inventions such as the arch and dome to building types from monasteries and mosques to museums and skyscrapers.
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture by
Call Number: NA31 .C86 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Covers all periods of western architectural history including biographies of architects and others who have made significant contributions to the field of architecture.
JSTOR provides a wealth of journal and ebook articles on architecture and history of the ancient world. Note: When you set up your search in JSTOR, you may want to limit the subject areas to "Archaeology" and "Architecture & Architectural History."
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
GVRL is a collection of specialized encyclopedias. It connects with many sources relevant to the architecture and history of the ancient world.
Websites on Ancient Architecture
Images, videos, commentary, and links to other quality resources on ancient architecture at Karnak. Some of the additional resources discuss ancient Egyptian architecture in other locales as well.
Ancient Egyptian Architecture Online
From UCLA, a collection of architectural drawings of ancient Egyptian structures.
Ancient Egyptian Architecture
An extensive entry in the Ancient History Encyclopedia. Includes many images.
ARTstor offers high-resolution images of architecture and art. It also provides details on history, materials, and more related to each image. It is rich in images of ancient architecture.