Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chapter 2 focuses on the Roman world. Resources on this page will help you to research architecture and history of ancient Rome.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
Cambridge Journals Online
Full text access to Cambridge University Press journals in the social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine including archaeology, anthropology, biology, computer science, economics, literature, mathematics, medicine, and more. Full text available through end of 2019.
ARTstor offers high-resolution images of architecture and art. It also provides details on history, materials, and more related to each image.
An entry in the Ancient History Encyclopedia discussing Etruscan architecture and its influence on Roman architecture. Includes images and video.
An Open Yale course on great buildings and engineering marvels of Rome and its empire, with an emphasis on urban planning and individual monuments and their decoration. Lessons are presented in video format.
Beginner's Guide to Ancient Rome
A Khan Academy course on Ancient Rome. Contains considerable architectural content, including essays, images, and videos.
Roman Power / Roman Architecture
This resource considers the spread of Roman architecture as an element of Roman empire and tracks the influence of Roman architectural style through today. Includes images.