Research Guides: Architectural History I: Chapter 6

Books, Ebooks, & Videos

(Note that there is some overlap between the two lists of books.)

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, covering topics such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design, with coverage dating back to the 1930s.
Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts of international peer-reviewed journals, exhibition reviews, trade publications, and museum bulletins. Topics inlcude new artists, contemporary art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, photography, pottery, and sculpture.
JSTOR
Access the full-text of thousands of scholarly journals and books covering the humanities, social sciences, and business. Many journals extend to the first volume. Auraria Library has access to the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection.
Oxford Bibliographies
The Auraria Library subscribes to several of the Oxford Bibliographies. You may find the Islamic Studies guide (included in this package) to be useful for researching Byzantine architecture.
Cambridge Journals
Full text access to 420 peer-reviewed academic journals from Cambridge University Press in the social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine. Full text available through end of 2019.

ARTstor
ARTstor offers high-resolution images of architecture and art. It also provides details on history, materials, and more related to each image.

Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
View images, commentary, and chronologies related to art through the millennia.

Early Christian & Byzantine Architecture
An introduction to Early Christian and Byzantine architecture including interactive plans and images from Turkey, Greece, and Italy. Links to a Turkish restoration project and exhibition.