Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources on this page will help you to research early medieval and Romanesque architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Online
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updated monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
ARTstor offers high-resolution images of architecture and art. It also provides details on history, materials, and more related to each image.
Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture
A glossary of terms curated by the University of Pittsburg . Linked images and cross-references are included.
An introduction to medieval architecture from Columbia University. Scroll right for images from across Europe, interactive plans, and videos.