Africana Studies (African American and African Studies)

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minoritized press. It includes historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989 and more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications.

Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in sociology, social science, and policy science.

Access the full-text of thousands of scholarly journals and books covering the humanities, social sciences, and business. Many journals extend to the first volume. Auraria Library has access to the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection.

Index to public policy, social policy, and social science documents from journals, books, government publications and other resources. Use the Politics and Policy Thesaurus to find related keywords.

Black Drama, now in its third edition, contains more than 1,700 full-text plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together works of short fiction from literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.

Black Women Writers offers literature and essays written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. The collection documents black women's perspective on the diversity and development of black people and the evolution of black feminism.

This collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covers 250 years of history. The over 1,000 authors were teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures.

The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines. 

AJOL indexes multidisciplinary journals and articles published in Africa. Articles not in Auraria Library may be borrowed, if available, via Interlibrary Loan.

An index of journal articles, magazines, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. 

Explore three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students, and housewives. Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides documents highlighting different responses to overcoming prejudice, segregation, and racial tensions. 

An archival collection on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition studies between 1490 and 2007, with original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, maps, images, and more. Close attention is paid to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.