Boolean Logic allows you to combine keywords to make a search more precise. The three terms are: AND, OR, NOT.
AND - Narrows a search
Example: medial collateral ligament AND therapy: Retrieves articles with both medial collateral ligament and therapy.
OR - Expands a search
Example: medial collateral ligament OR mcl: Retrieves articles with just medial collateral ligament, just mcl, and articles with both medial collateral ligament and mcl.
NOT - Removes a term from a search
Example: medial collateral ligament NOT mcl: Retrieves articles with medial collateral ligament, but remove all articles with any mention of mcl. Use NOT sparingly because you often lose many useful articles.
Massive collection of scholarly materials covers virtually all topic areas. Content - including articles, proceedings, and more - is pulled from various collections and is cross-searchable.
Provides access to thousands of full-text journal articles and e-books related to science, technology, engineering, medicine, social social sciences, fine arts and humanities.
Covers edited scholarly output and includes the Biological Sciences, Animal Behavior Abstracts, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Useful for comprehensive literature reviews, as it includes specialized, editorial-controlled resources.
JoVE is both a journal, Journal of Visualized Experiments, and a database, JoVE Science Education Database, of filmed experiments, published (peer-reviewed) in video format to make visible the subtle, intricate techniques involved in research. Subjects covered include biology, neurosciences, medicine, bioengineering, engineering, genetics, cancer research, immunology and infection, chemistry, behavior, environment, developmental biology, biochemistry, psychology, and clinical skills.
Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Updated weekly.
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas is a digital collection of anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
A database of articles related to animal and plant biology.
Provides full text of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals focus on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
1100 Lawrence Street
Denver, CO 80204
303-315-7700
Ask Us
Directions