Research Guides: Health Communication: Article Databases

Journals

Health communication is a very new field, starting in the mid-1970s. There are few journals that address issues in health communication specifically. However, Auraria has access to a few helpful journals. It is a good idea to browse through these journals to get a feeling for recent research being done in this discipline.

Journal of Health Communication
The leading journal covering the full breadth of a field that focuses on the communication of health information globally.
Health Communication (Journal)
This journal seeks to improve practical communication between caregivers and patients and between institutions and the public. Outstanding editorial board members and contributors from both medical and social science arenas collaborate to meet the challenges inherent in this goal.

Health Communication Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes communication and mass-media related journals. Many of the journals are included from their first issues to the present, dating as far back as 1915.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, chapters, dissertations, book reviews on the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics and descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index to professional literature in nursing and allied health fields including veterinary technology, medical imaging and therapies. Limited to 20 simultaneous users shared with CSU and UNC.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines and journals in the health and related fields, many articles available online. Provides access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the personal health information sources in the Health Reference Center.

Medline
Research-oriented medical and health indexing and abstracting service from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Medline records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) using these subject headings adds accuracy to a search. This is the consumer help version (also available in Spanish).

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Major indexing and abstracting database covering psychology, social work, educational psychology, and related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in sociology, social science and policy science.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier supplies access to thousands of regional, national, and international scholarly business journals, business periodicals, and industry publications, on topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. There is full text coverage for a high percentage of the titles. Includes embedded full page images for many of the full text journals. Also has country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit, WEFA, CountryWatch and the Icon Group.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full text local, regional, national and international newspapers, as well as newswires, blogs, and more. Has Colorado publications, including The Denver Post. Formerly known as Newsbank.