Research Guides: Anthropology: Medical

Article Databases

PubMed
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect
Provides access to thousands of full-text journal articles and ebooks related to science, technology, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
Web of Science
Index of scholarly materials with comprehensive coverage of the sciences and socials sciences with some coverage of the arts and humanities. Includes citations and citation tracking for articles, journals, proceedings, conference papers, and more and is pulled from various collections. Includes links to Journal Citation Reports (JCR).

Anthropology & Medicine
Publishes papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context. This broad field reflects the journal’s commitment to interdisciplinary research on the interrelationship between culture and health.
Medical Anthropology
Provides a global forum for scholarly articles on the social patterns of ill-health and disease transmission, and experiences of and knowledge about health, illness and wellbeing. These include the nature, organization and movement of peoples, technologies and treatments, and how inequalities pattern access to these.
Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry
An international and interdisciplinary forum for the publication of work in the fields of medical and psychiatric anthropology, cross-cultural psychiatry, and associated cross-societal and clinical epidemiological studies.
Medical Anthropology Quarterly
An international journal published by the Society for Medical Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association.
Social Science & Medicine
An international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of social science research on health.

Society for Medical Anthropology
This web site is geared to the needs of medical anthropology graduate students, practicing anthropologists, scholars, and scholar activists who address issues of local, national and international health importance.