When you're learning about the academic writing process, it's helpful to know that you have lots of support around you. Take advantage of the expertise that the library & the writing center can share with you. Every time you work with their experts on a project, you will build skills that you can use the next time around, too.
If you're writing a thesis or capstone project, make an appointment with your librarian. Do this even if you feel fairly comfortable with the library's resources. Your librarian will work with you to make sure that you're searching in the right places, using effective search strategies. An appointment takes less than an hour & leads to a much better thesis or capstone!
Works with writers in all areas of study, at all levels, in all stages of their writing processes, and with all types of writing projects. Offers students resources for developing as writers and thinkers, sharing their work and ideas, and receiving thoughtful feedback on work in progress in a practical, friendly, collaborative environment.
In the Writing Center, trained graduate & undergraduate consultants offer help with writing of all kinds, including essays, proposals, dissertations, resumes, and scholarship applications.
The Writing Zone is a collaborative space where CCD students can receive support with written-based assignments and projects, as well as get support for assignments in English, communication, history, political science, psychology, and philosophy.
An index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on North American historical topics from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for historical coverage beyond the US and Canada.
Full text plus abstracts/indexing of international peer-reviewed journals, exhibition reviews, trade publications, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Covers American, Latin American, Canadian, Asian. and other non-Western art. Good source of information on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, feminist criticism, advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, and sculpture. Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
Areas covered include advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, sculpture and more.
Index to top-tier scholarly and professional American and international journal articles on architecture and design. Covers subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Seventy-five percent of the journals indexed here are not indexed in any other source.
The BuildingGreen database helps users research and identify environmentally sustainable materials and techniques for building and construction. Topics covered include sustainable materials, energy efficient appliances and equipment, building science, building & project types, the design process, and codes & certifications. To access the full site, including the quizzes and continuing education credits, you must create a personal profile using your school's email address, for example, ucdenver.edu, msudenver.edu, ccd.edu.
Covers peer-reviewed and trade publications on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green architecture and construction, transportation, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history from 1450 - present. Updated monthly. For US and Canadian history, see America: History and Life.
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
MADCAD provides full text access to numerous building codes and standards, including the International Building Code, International Energy Conservation Code, International Fire Code, and more. MADCAD offers chat help from staff members with extensive knowledge of building codes.
Finding Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses come in handy for many reasons. They're often a source of cutting-edge research on unusual topics. If you're a graduate student yourself, it's also helpful to see what other students have researched & how they were written.
Search citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by post-graduate students from all University of Colorado campuses and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts. Full text of many of those published after 1996 is downloadable.
Bibliographic citations to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from graduate schools and universities. Indexes from 1861 onward, provides abstracts from 1980 onward, and supplies 24-page previews from 1997 until the present. Includes full-text of the University of Colorado Systems dissertations on Dissertations & Theses @ University of Colorado System. Once you have identified the dissertation or thesis of interest, use the Interlibrary Loan link to borrow a copy.
This is the library's main search tool. Search numerous resources available through Auraria Library including journals, articles, media, books, and more. Limit by material type, publication date, author, and more.
To find books and ebooks, search for by author, title, subject or keyword(s) describing your topic.
Your results will contain both print books and ebooks.
For print books, write down the call number to locate the book in the Library.
For ebooks, a green "Full Text Online" icon will appear beside the title. Click on the icon to access the full-text.
