Research Guides: Public Administration and Public Affairs: Government Resources

Local Government Websites

Colorado Division of Local Government
Provides information to the Colorado Governor and General Assembly on local government needs and problems, performs research on local government issues, provides technical assistance and information to local governments on available federal and state programs, and acts as a liaison with other state agencies concerned with local governments.
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Formerly the General Accounting Office, this is the investigative arm of Congress. GAO evaluates the performance of federal programs and tracks the expenditures of those programs. GAO reports and resources are available from the link above and the following site.
National Association of Counties (NACo)
NACo collects information on counties, such as county officials, courthouse addresses, county seats, cities within a county as well as various statistical and geographical information. Also use the NACo site to identify what and where countieare in a particular state.
National League of Cities
The largest national organization of municipal governments, representing 18,000 cities, towns, and villages in the United States.
U.S. Conference of Mayors
An official nonpartisan organization of U.S. mayors, representing cities with populations of 30,000 or more. Mayors can also be searched by last name, city, state, and population.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional is a database for congressional publications and legislative research that offers access to U.S. congressional documents from 1789 to the present. It supports research in public policy, historical, and legal areas, with insights into U.S. history and policy development.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic is a government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set, and 2600+ scholarly journals. It also includes all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law, and U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations, summaries, and full text of over 200 U.S. and international journal articles, books, dissertations, papers, and government and other reports, on many criminal justice topics.