Research Guides: American Indian & Indigenous Studies: Scholarly Sources

American Indian and Indigenous Studies Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. Includes citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada from the 16th century to the present.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Indigenous peoples from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to Indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minoritized press. It includes historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989 and more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic materials covering all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with American Anthropological Association publications, including journals and newsletters.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, association papers and reviews in sociology, social science, and policy science.

General History Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles, magazines, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
General database with full text of almost 3,000 journals, many peer reviewed. Multidisciplinary, including social sciences, humanities, education, engineering, arts, literature, medicine, science, business, and more. Includes images, graphs, tables, and illustrations. Also indexes thousands of open access (OA) journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access the full-text of thousands of scholarly journals and books covering the humanities, social sciences, and business. Many journals extend to the first volume. Auraria Library has access to the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection.