Research Guides: Industrial Design: Article Databases

Subject Databases

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of The Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, including dictionary terms, hundreds of Research updates in all areas of science and technology, and thousands of biographies of leading scientists. Updated weekly.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text plus abstracts/indexing of international peer-reviewed journals, exhibition reviews, trade publications, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Covers American, Latin American, Canadian, Asian. and other non-Western art. Good source of information on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, feminist criticism, advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, and sculpture. Search Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
Areas covered include advertising art, archaeology, architecture, art history, film, humanities, industrial design, landscape architecture, marketing, motion pictures, photography, pottery, sculpture and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text interdisciplinary scholarly journals and books, with journal content, often extending to the first volume of a periodical. Auraria Library supplies access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences; Life Sciences, Biological Sciences; and the Health & General Sciences Collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text journal articles and e-books related to science, technology, engineering, medicine, social social sciences, fine arts and humanities.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBIS World Industry Research Reports provides current reports on U.S. industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. The Library subscribes only to this section of IBISWorld.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.

Design Periodicals

Domus
An architecture and interior decoration periodical.
Ergonomics
Official publication of the Ergonomics Society and of the International Ergonomics Association.
Rapid Prototyping Journal
A rapid prototypig, computer simulation, and systems engineering periodical.
International Journal of Design
Design periodical produced by the Chinese Institute of Design.
Applied Ergonomics
Periodical aimed at applying ergonomics/human factors in the design, planning and management of technical and social systems at work or leisure
Human Factors
Official publication of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society.
Dwell
Dwell magazine is a publication dedicated to modern design and exploring the myriad ways in which good design thinking can deliver a better life.

Your Search: Finding RELEVANT Articles

First, organize your research topic into concepts. Concepts are typically nouns or noun phrases.

For example, if you are researching design technology and market need associated with ceramic tile design, your concepts would be:
- industrial design technology
- market need
- ceramic tiles

Using a databases's Advanced Search, enter each concept and its synonyms into a separate search line.

"industrial design technology"
market need OR demand
Design*

Use quotation marks around phrases, these are typically noun phrases that you would find a definition of in a dictionary.

"industrial design"
"product demand"

Use * for truncation.

Design* will find designs, designer, designed, etc.

Limit to peer-reviewed articles if necessary.

Limit by date if necessary.

Too many or too few results?

Use the thesaurus or Subject Index to find related, broader, narrower, and similar terms OR specific terms that the databases uses to describe a topic.
- Too many results? Use a narrower term.
- Too few results? Use a broader term.

Find an article that looks interesting?

Click on the article's title.
Look at the subjects given to an article to find related terms and run additional searches using these terms.
Click on the references, cited by, or see similar documents links to find related articles.