History

An index of journal articles, magazines, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the present. 

The Black Studies Center brings together historical and contemporary material for researching the past, present, and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines. 

Contents span five centuries and chart the rise and fall of empires. Topics range from the explorations of Columbus and Captain Cook through decolonization in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American imperialism. Documents include primary sources and scholarly material by people from Europe and globally. 

Covering both U.S. and world history, this collection contains full-text primary sources and scholarly articles from books, magazines, journals, and newspapers. Additionally, it provides timelines, biographies, and maps.

The full-text materials in this collection cover 11 broad areas related to Indigenous peoples from the time prior to North American colonization to the 20th century Rights Movement. Areas covered, related to Indigenous peoples of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, include culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties, wars, trade, and 20th century political activism. 

Contains economic, financial, and social statistics for worldwide countries and territories, often spanning centuries and beginning as early as 1750. Find data for Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania, including countries with changed borders. Includes population demographics, vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical tables are downloadable and editable.

An archival collection on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition studies between 1490 and 2007, with original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, maps, images, and more. Close attention is paid to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.